Sacred Texts  Christianity  Revelation 

The Book of Revelation

by Clarence Larkin


This is the Rev. Clarence Larkin's guide to the Book of Revelation. Larkin, who published several books about biblical studies in the 1910s and 20s, was a 'Dispensationalist,' one of the threads of modern Evangelical Christianity. The predecessor of Larkin is J.N. Darby, the founder of Dispensationalism, and among his many successors are Hal Lindsay, and the Left Behind books.

Unlike more recent authors, however, Larkin does not make any claims to know when or exactly how the prophecies will unfold. Rather he takes us on a grand tour of the Apocalypse of St. John, and guides us through its images, symbols and poetry. Larkin sorts out what could be a reference to an actual event or person, (without attempting any particular association) and what is pure symbolism. Larkin uses bold type extensively for emphasis, as well as some superb 'visual aids' in the form of intricate charts and maps.

Contrasted with other prophetic books such as Nostradamus and the Sibylline Oracles, Revelation has a consistent narrative with a beginning, middle and end. It is also one of the essential sacred texts and required reading for anyone interested in religion. This book will be a welcome reference for anyone studying or trying to explain Revelation, whether or not they are Dispensationalists.

Title Page
The Title
The Salutation
The Announcement

I. The Things Which Thou Hast Seen

The Vision
The ''Key'' to the Book

II. The Things Which Are

The Messages to the Seven Churches
I. The Church At Ephesus
II. The Church At Smyrna
III. The Church At Pergamos
IV. The Church At Thyatira
V. The Church At Sardis
VI. The Church At Philadelphia
VII. The Church At Laodicea

III. The Things Which Shall Be Hereafter

The Things Which Shall Be Hereafter
I. The Heavenly Door
2. The Heavenly Throne
3. The Four and Twenty Elders
4. The Four Beasts
5. The Seven-Sealed Book
Daniel's Seventieth Week

The Seven Seals

First Seal (A White Horse)
Second Seal (A Red Horse)
Third Seal (A Black Horse)
Fourth Seal (A Pale Horse)
Fifth Seal (The Souls of Martyrs)
Sixth Seal (Physical Changes)
Comparison of Christ's ''Olivet Discourse'' and ''Revelation Six''

The Interval Between the Sixth and Seventh Seals

1. The Sealing of the 144,000
2. The Blood Washed Multitude
Seventh Seal (Silence)
The Golden Censer

The Seven Trumpets

First Trumpet (Hail--Fire--Blood)
Second Trumpet (The Burning Mountain)
Third Trumpet. (The Star Wormwood.)
Fourth Trumpet (Sun, Moon and Stars Smitten.)
The Angel Warning (''Three Woes'' Announced)
Fifth Trumpet. First Woe. (The Plague Of Locusts.)
The Bottomless Pit
The Sixth Trumpet. Second Woe (The Plague of Horsemen)

The Interval Between the Sixth and Seventh Trumpets

1. The Little Book
2. The Two Witnesses
Seventh Trumpet. Third Woe (Covers the Rest of the Week)

The Middle of the Week

The Seven Personages

1. The Sun-Clothed Woman
2. The Dragon
3. The Man Child
4. The Archangel (War In Heaven)
The Persecution of the ''Sun Clothed Woman''
5. The Jewish Remnant
6. The Beast out of the Sea
I. Isaiah's Foreview
II. Daniel's Foreview
2. The Vision of the ''Four Beasts.''
3. The Vision of the ''Ram'' and the ''He-Goat.''
4. The Vision of the ''Kings of the North And South.''
III. Paul's Foreview
IV. John's Foreview
7. The Beast Out of the Earth

The Interval Between the ''Seven Personages'' and the ''Seven Vials.''

1. The Lamb on Mount Zion
2. The Three Angel Messengers
3. The Blessed Dead
4. The Harvest And Vintage

The Seven Last Plagues or Vial Judgments

The Seven Last Plagues
Prelude. The Sea of Glass
The Tabernacle of Testimony
First Vial (Boils)
Second Vial (Blood On the Sea
Third Vial (Blood On the Rivers)
Fourth Vial (Great Heat)
Fifth Vial (Darkness)
Sixth Vial (The Euphrates Dried Up)
The Interval Between the Sixth and Seventh Vials: Three Unclean Spirits
The Seventh Vial (Great Hail)
The Seals, Trumpets and Vials Compared: Chart

The Seven Dooms

First Doom
Second Doom. Commercial Babylon
The Interval Between the Second and Third Dooms: The Hallelujah Chorus
2. The Marriage of the Lamb
3. The Battle of Armageddon
Third Doom. The Beast and False Prophet
Fourth Doom. The Antichristian Nations

The Interval Between the Fourth and Fifth Dooms

1. Satan Bound For a Thousand Years
2. The First Resurrection
3. The Millennium
4. Satan Loosed
Fifth Doom. Gog and Magog
Sixth Doom. Satan
Seventh Doom. The Wicked Dead. The ''Great White Throne Judgment''

The Seven New Things

1. The New Heaven
2. The New Earth
3. The New City
4. The New Nations
5. The New River
6. The New Tree of Life
7. The New Throne


The Great Abdication
The Ages of the Ages
The Epilogue or Final Testimony and Warnings