Sacred Texts  Legends & Sagas  Celtic 

Popular Tales of the West Highlands Index
Vol I.    Vol. II    Vol. III    Vol. IV

Popular Tales

of the West Highlands

by J. F. Campbell

Volume I


Contents    Start Reading

This is the first of four volumes of Campbell's collection of Scottish folklore. This volume has many stories which have been anthologized elsewhere, as well as the extensive introduction which not only serves to introduce Scottish folklore, but as a prolegomena to the study of oral folklore in general.

--John Bruno Hare, March 26th, 2004

Title Page
I. The Young King Of Easaidh Ruadh
II. The Battle of the Birds
III. The Tale of the Hoodie
IV. The Sea-Maiden
V. Conall Cra Bhuidhe
VI. The Tale of Conal Crovi
VII. The Tale of Connal
VIII. Murchag a's Mionachag
IX. The Brown Bear of the Green Glen
X. The Three Soldiers
XI. The Story of the White Pet
XII. The Daughter of the Skies
XIII. The Girl and the Dead Man
XIV. The King who Wished to Marry His Daughter
XV. The Poor Brother and the Rich
XVI. The King Of Lochlin's Three Daughters
XVII. Maol a Chliobain
XVIIa. Fables
XVIIb. Bailie Lunnain
XVIIc. The Slim Swarthy Champion
Second Version. The History of the Ceabharnach
XVIId. The Tale of the Shifty Lad, the Widow's Son