Sacred Texts  Hinduism  Index  Previous  Next 
Buy this Book on Kindle

Thirty Minor Upanishads, tr. by K. Narayanasvami Aiyar, [1914], at

p. 128




Om. Then Nārāyaṇa, the supreme Purusha desired. "I shall create offspring." From Nārāyaṇa emanates prāṇa, manas, the several organs of sense and action, ākāś, vāyu, agni, āpas and pṛṭhivī that supports all. From Nārāyaṇa emanates Brahmā. From Nārāyaṇa emanates Ruḍra. From Nārāyaṇa emanates Inḍra. From Nārāyaṇa emanates Prajāpaṭi (the divine progenitor). From Nārāyaṇa emanates the twelve āḍiṭyas, ruḍras, vasus, and all the chhanḍas (Veḍas). From Nārāyaṇa only do (all these) proceed. Through Nārāyaṇa do (they) prosper. In Nārāyaṇa (they) are absorbed. The Ṛgveḍa teaches this.

Then Nārāyaṇa is eternal. Brahmā is Nārāyaṇa, Śiva is Nārāyaṇa, Inḍra is Nārāyaṇa, Kāla (time) is Nārāyaṇa, Ḍik (space) is Nārāyaṇa, the intermediate quarters also are Nārāyaṇa; that which is above is Nārāyaṇa, that which is below is Nārāyaṇa, that which is in and out is Nārāyaṇa, the whole universe which existed and will exist is Nārāyaṇa. Nārāyaṇa is the only one that is stainless, sinless, changeless, and unnameable, and that is pure and divine. There is no second. Whoever knows Him thus, becomes Vishṇu Himself. The Yajurveḍa teaches this.

One should utter "Om" first, then "namaḥ," and then "Nārāyaṇāya." "Om" (is) a single syllable; "Namaḥ" contains two syllables: "Nārāyaṇāya" contains five syllables. This is the sentence known as the Ashtākshara 1 of Nārāyaṇa.

p. 129

[paragraph continues] Whoever studies this Ashtākshara of Nārāyaṇa and recites it constantly, attains full life and supremacy over men, enjoys the pleasures of royalty and becomes the master of all souls. He attains moksha; yea, he attains moksha. The Sāmaveḍa teaches this.

The Yogin having pronounced (the name of) Him who is complete bliss, who is Brahma-purusha and who is of the nature of Praṇava (Om)—a combination of A, U, and M—is released from the bondage of birth and mundane existence. He who practises the manṭra "Om-Namo-Nārāyaṇāya" reaches Vaikuṇtha (the abode of Vishṇu). It is this lotus (heart). It is replete with vijñāna: It has the brilliancy of lightning. The son of Ḍevākī is Brahmaṇya 1. Maḍhusūḍana is Brahmaṇya. Nārāyaṇa who pervades all elements, who is one only, who is the cause Purusha and who is causeless, is known as Parabrahman. The Aṭharvaṇa Upanishaḍ teaches this.

Whoever recites (this Upanishaḍ) in the morning destroys the sins committed the night (before). Whoever recites it in the evening destroys the sins committed during the day. Whoever recites morning and evening becomes free from sins, however sinful he may be. Whoever recites (it) in the noon facing the sun is freed from all the five 2 great sins as well as from the minor ones. He derives the good effects of the recitation of all the Veḍas. Whoever knows thus attains Sāyujya of Nārāyaṇa (viz., is absorbed in the essence of Nārāyaṇa). He attains Sāyujya of Nārāyaṇa. Thus is the Upanishaḍ.


128:1 The eight syllables.

129:1 Means Vishṇu or Brahmā devoted to Ṭapas, Veḍas, Truth, and Jñāna.

129:2 They are theft of gold, drinking alcohol, the murder of a Brahman, and unlawful union with the guru's wife and association with them.

Next: 19. Kalisanṭāraṇa Upanishaḍ of Kṛshṇa-Yajurveḍa