Sacred Texts  Hinduism  Satapatha Brahmana  Index  Previous  Next 
Buy this Book at

Satapatha Brahmana Part V (SBE44), Julius Eggeling tr. [1900], at



12:1:2:11. Verily, from out of faith the gods fashioned the initiation, from out of Aditi the opening (sacrifice 2), from out of Soma the buying (of Soma-plants), from out of Vishnu the guest-offering, from out of the sun the Pravargya, from out of the Svadhâ (the food of departed ancestors) the Upasads,

p. 139

from out of Agni and Soma the day of fasting, and from out of this world the opening Atirâtra 1.

12:1:2:22. From out of the year (they fashioned) the Katurvimsa day, from out of the priesthood the Abhiplava (shadaha), from out of the nobility the Prishthya (shadaha) 2, from out of Agni the Abhigit, from out of the waters the Svarasâman days, from out of the sun the Vishuvat,--the Svarasâman days have been told;--from out of Indra the Visvagit,--the Prishthya and Abhiplava have been told;--from out of Mitra and Varuna the Go and

p. 140

[paragraph continues] Âyus 1, from out of the Visve Devâh the Dasarâtra 2, from out of the regions the Prishthya-shadaha of the Dasarâtra, from out of these worlds the Khandoma days.

12:1:2:33. From out of the year (they fashioned) the tenth day, from out of Pragâpati the Mahâvrata, and from out of the world of heaven the Udayanîya Atirâtra:--such was the birth of the Year; and, verily, whosoever thus knows that birth of the Year becomes more (and more) glorious to (the end of) it, he becomes possessed of a (new) body, he becomes the Year, and, as the Year 3, he goes to the gods.


138:2 For the Prâyanîyeshti of the ordinary Soma-sacrifice, see part ii, p. 47 seqq. For the subsequent ceremonies, cf. the table of contents of the same part. They are here alluded to for the reason that they are essential parts of every day's performance during the year's session.

139:1 The Prâyanîya Atirâtra is the first day of the sacrificial session called Gavâm ayanam, the performance of which lasts a year, and includes the following sacrificial periods and days (cf. part ii, p, 427):--

Prâyanîya Atirâtra, or opening day.

Katurvimsa day, an Ukthya, all the stotras of which are in the katurvimsa-stoma.

5 months, each consisting of 4 Abhiplava shadahas, and 1 Prishthya. shadaha (=30 days).

3 Abhiplavas and 1 Prishthya.

Abhigit day (performed with all the stomas).
3 Svarasâman days.

28 days which, with the two opening days, complete the sixth month.

VISHUVAT, or Divâkîrtya day (Ekavimsa-stoma).

3 Svarasâman days.
Visvagit day (performed with all the prishthas),
1 Prishthya and 3 Abhiplavas.

28 days which, with the two concluding days, complete the seventh month.

4 months, each consisting of 1 Prishthya shadaha and four Abhiplava shadahas.

3 Abhiplava shadahas (18 days).
1 Goshtoma (Agnishtoma).
1 Âyushtoma (Ukthya).
1 Dasarâtra (10 days).

30 days (twelfth month).

Mahâvrata day (Agnishtoma).

Udayanîya Atirâtra, or concluding day.

139:2 For the difference between these two sacrificial periods of six days, see part iii, introd., p. xxi, note 2.

140:1 For the differences between the three modes of chanting the Stotras of the Agnishtoma and Ukthya Soma-sacrifices--viz. Gyotishtoma, Goshtoma, Âyushtoma--see part iv, p. 287, note 2.

140:2 The Dasarâtra, or central ten days of the Dvâdasâha (twelve days’ period), consists of a Prishthya shadaha, three Khandoma days (of the Ukthya order), and a final (tenth) Atyagnishtoma day called Avivâkya.

140:3 For the Sacrificer as father Time, see part iv, introd., p. xxii.

Next: XII, 1, 3. Third Brâhmana