Sacred Texts  Hinduism  Index  Previous  Next 


1. The wishes of a Brâhmana who has left off evil deeds and is (ever) engaged in holy works are fulfilled even without (the practice of) restraints. 1

2. Upright Brâhmanas quickly accomplish whatever

p. 330

they wish in their hearts, if they are purified by honest actions.

3. Thus a wise man should practise those restraints until he has purified his bodily frame.

4. He who has been purified by those restraints should, after fasting three (days and) nights, begin the performance of that sacred rite through which he wishes to gain the fulfilment of his desires,

5. (Reciting) the Kshâpavitra, the Sahasrâksha, the Mrigâra, the two Ganas (called) Amhomuk, the Pâvamanîs, the Kûshmândîs, and the Rikas, addressed to Vaisvânara, 5

6. (And) offering with (each of) these (Mantras) boiled rice and clarified butter during seven days, in the morning, at midday, and in the evening, keeping a rigid silence, living on food fit for a sacrifice, restraining his senses and his actions,

7. He is freed from all crimes, even mortal sins, after looking on a cross-road at a pot filled with water, (and reciting the text), 'Simhe me manyuh.'

8. He is freed from the multitude of sins, committed unintentionally in old age, in youth, and in infancy, and even from those belonging to former births;

9. After feeding at the end (of the seven days) Brâhmanas with milk and rice, well. mixed with

p. 331

butter, and distributing to them after their dinner cows, land, sesamum, and gold,

10. A Brâhmana becomes internally pure, his guilt being consumed like fuel, and fit for the performance of rites which secure the fulfilment of wishes and of rites like the kindling of the sacred fire.


329:1 7. Yantrâni, 'restraints,' i.e. Krikkhras, the fasts, and other practices described in the preceding chapters.

330:5 According to Govinda the Kshâpavitra, or as the Dekhan MSS. read, Kshmâpavitra, occurs in the Sûtrapâtha of the Taittirîyas, consists of six verses, and begins 'Agne naya.' The text meant must be similar to Taitt. Samhitâ I, t, 14, 3. The Sahasrâksha is the Purushasûkta. The Mrigâra consists of the Yâgyânuvâkyâs of the Mrigâreshti, Taitt. Samhitâ IV, 7, t5. The two Ganas called Amhomuk are found Taitt. Samhitâ II, 3, 13, 1, 'yâ vâm indrâvarunau' and 'yo vâm indrâvarunau: The verses addressed to Agni Vaisvânara are the first eight of Taitt. Samhitâ I, 5, 11.

Next: Prasna IV, Adhyâya 8