Sacred Texts  Buddhism 
Buy this Book at


by Ellen C. Babbitt


Contents    Start Reading    Text [Zipped]

This is a retelling of stories from the Jataka, the treasury of tales of Buddha's previous animal reincarnations. Babbitt wrote this with young adults and children in mind, but the simple language and sprightly black and white illustrations add appeal for readers of all ages, Buddhist or not.

Title Page
Publisher's Note
I. The Monkey and the Crocodile
II. How the Turtle Saved His Own Life
III. The Merchant of Seri
IV. The Turtle Who Couldn't Stop Talking
V. The Ox Who Won the Forfeit
VI. The Sandy Road
VII. The Quarrel of the Quails
VIII. The Measure of Rice
IX. The Foolish, Timid Rabbit
X. The Wise and the Foolish Merchant
XI. The Elephant Girly-Face
XII. The Banyan Deer
XIII. The Princes and the Water-Sprite
XIV. The King's White Elephant
XV. The Ox Who Envied the Pig
XVI. Grannie's Blackie
XVII. The Crab and the Crane
XVIII. Why the Owl Is Not King of the Birds