Sacred Texts  Legends and Sagas  Lang Fairy Books  Index  Previous  Next 

The Yellow Fairy Book, by Andrew Lang, [1889], at

p. xii p. xiii



The Cat and the Mouse in Partnership

The Six Swans

The Dragon of the North

Story of the Emperor's New Clothes

The Golden Crab

The Iron Stove

The Dragon and his Grandmother

The Donkey Cabbage

The Little Green Frog

The Seven-headed Serpent

The Grateful Beasts

The Giants and the Herd-boy

The Invisible Prince

The Crow

How Six Men travelled through the Wide World

The Wizard King

The Nixy

The Glass Mountain

Alphege, or the Green Monkey


The Three Brothers

The Boy and the Wolves, or the Broken Promise

The Glass Axe

The Dead Wife

In the Land of Souls

The White Duck

The Witch and her Servants

The Magic Ring

The Flower Queen's Daughter

The Flying Ship

The Snow-daughter and the Fire-son

The Story of King Frost

The Death of the Sun-hero

The Witch

The Hazel-nut Child

The Story of Big Klaus and Little Klaus

Prince Ring

The Swineherd

How to tell a True Princess

The Blue Mountains

The Tinder-box

The Witch in the Stone Boat


The Nightingale

Hermod and Hadvor

The Steadfast Tin-soldier

Blockhead Hans

A Story about a Darning-needle

Next: The Cat and the Mouse in Partnership